How To Burn a 8GB DVD(DVD9) to 4GB DVD(DVD5)

Better to Know before starting…
DVD +/-R :Write once DVD Drive which holds upto 4.3 GB
DVD +/- RW :ReWritable DVD
DVD +/- R DL :Dual Layer DVD which hold upto 7.9GB
DVD 5:Single sided Single Layer DVD that stores upto 4.3GB.  supports DVD+-R, DVD+-RW
DVD 9: Single Sided Dual layer DVD stores upto 7.9 GB.a DVD-9 is basically two plastic DVD-5s pressed together. Does not support DVD+-R , DVD+-RW, Only video DVD format is supported.

Step By Step:

1)  Download and install DVD Shrink

2) Click on ‘open disc’ and select the source DVD9. Then it will perform some analysis.

3) select full Disk option and select all main menu, menus, extras and hit backup. Adjust some settings like un check ‘DTS option to reduce the size. 

4) Select the target harddrive location for backup(do not select DVD5 to burn).

5) This process will take some time like 20-30 minutes to shrink. Then burn it to DVD5 using Nero software, I got burn failed at 8x error so many times. Then i tried burn process at 6x speed and it is success

Published in: on December 21, 2006 at 10:30 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://klavanya.wordpress.com/2006/12/21/how-to-burn-a-8mb-dvddvd9-to-4mb-dvddvd5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. is this suitable for software dvd…??? i mean dual layer dvd???

  2. I have one software dvd…. it consists of so many softwares for 8 gb….
    How can i write this in normal DVD????? will these steps work for that?????

  3. Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would
    really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Bless you

  4. I like it when individuals come together and share ideas.
    Great website, keep it up!

  5. Thanks for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your
    efforts and I am waiting for your next post thank you
    once again.

  6. I blog often and I seriously appreciate your content.
    This great article has really peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your blog and keep
    checking for new details about once per week.
    I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  7. Hello, i believe that i noticed you visited my blog thus i came to return the want?

    .I’m trying to in finding issues to enhance my web site!I suppose its good enough to use a few of your ideas!!

  8. With havin so much written content do you ever run into
    any problems of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My website has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement. Do you know any methods to help prevent content from being stolen? I’d truly appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

